top of page

The Four Movements of "IMAGO: a bilateral journey of transformation"

IMAGO consists of four seamless movements, each about six minutes in length.  The movements are titled "Ovum", "Caterpillar", "Chrysalis" and "Butterfly".

Here is a brief description of each movement as interpreted from the Alternating Sounds, LLC manager, George Herring
(You may also enjoy the composer's notes, and for a deep dive into IMAGO check out this series of conversations between the composer and co-producer.)

FIRST MOVEMENT: "Ovum" (00:00)

The first half minute of IMAGO consists of a simple sustained tone.  This gives you an opportunity to settle yourself into the listening experience. This can also be an ideal time to gently and momentarily focus your attention on any goal, intention, problem or question that you choose. In this way you and the music are working together to produce the positive outcome you desire.

The first movement is a simple, richly textured chord progression that continually repeats with variations in dynamics, tonalities and instrumentation. Each repetition of this basic theme suggests the gradual growth of the ovum as it evolves on the way to its next stage of development.

At times throughout IMAGO's four movements, including this one, you will hear what sounds like a chorus that evokes an almost angelic quality to your listening experience.  These moments express the spirit of transformation beckoning whatever problem, issue or conflict you've brought to the music.

SECOND MOVEMENT: "Caterpillar" (6:38)

The sudden transition to the caterpillar stage of transformation is very evident by the dramatic change in tempo, tonality and instrumentation.  Just as a caterpillar must gather fuel for its further transformation, this movement can be used by your deep brain to gather resources and energy to transform the unwanted old into the desired new.


Once the caterpillar has consumed, converted and stored enough energy to fuel its ultimate metamorphosis, it is time to enter the next stage of transformation. 

THIRD MOVEMENT: "Chrysalis" (12:49)

The third movement introduces a level of harmonic tension that is strikingly different from what has come before and which draws the listener ever more deeply into the process of cocooning, dissolving and finally emerging completely transformed.

FOURTH MOVEMENT: "Butterfly"(19:01)

The journey of transformation has finally reached its full unfolding.  In this movement the butterfly slowly emerges, gradually finds its wings and enters the sky. 


The last four minutes of IMAGO articulate and integrate the full cumulative potential of the four movements. As the last notes fade into the distance what was once incapable of independent movement can now fly into boundless sky.

bottom of page